• Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1
  • Content Per Day:  0.00
  • Achievement Points:  0
  • Solved Content:  0
  • Days Won:  0
  • Device:  Windows

Hello

I am quite new to guitar theory, and I was wondering how you guys went about memorizing major scales on the fretboard? It seems quite daunting to memorize the whole fretboard from scratch every time I want to learn a new major scale. I understand that the "pattern" is the same (that is W-W-H-W-W-W-H for all notes) but finding the root note in each string, then applying it to every string etc. seems like a very slow and tedious process. Is trial and error the only way to do it until you get used to it?

I've also seen them divide the fretboard into 7 blocks (which from what i've seen are also unintuitively called patterns since it wasn't confusing enough) and claim that they are the "same" across other major scales (I've checked and found that they aren't, unless they were referring to the other "pattern"). Can someone help me out?

• Member ID:  9
  • Group:  Moderators
  • Followers:  11
  • Topic Count:  65
  • Topics Per Day:  0.03
  • Content Count:  820
  • Content Per Day:  0.36
  • Achievement Points:  1
  • Solved Content:  0
  • Days Won:  212
  • Birthday:  01/01/1953
  • Device:  Macintosh

Hello, @Jayarne, and welcome to the forum!

It’s a bit difficult from your first post to discern just where you are in your learning and where to begin, but I’ll (ahem) pitch in.

Yes, the mathematical pattern of major and minor seconds (whole and half tones, respectively) that you describe defines a major scale in Western music. From there, learning the major scales for guitar branches into two separate skill sets: (1) learning the names of the pitches (colloquially, “notes”) in each of the 12 scales, and (2) learning where these pitches are on the fretboard. Yes, some of the work involved is daunting, indeed. That’s why so few people do it.