• Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  5
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  15
  • Content Per Day:  0.01
  • Achievement Points:  0
  • Solved Content:  0
  • Days Won:  1

I started playing with a group last summer. Just a couple of guys with guitars, a mandolin, and a banjo.  Was just meant to be a fun time jammin' to some old gospel and bluegrass tunes.  It quickly evolved in us playing in our worship services on occasional Sundays.  We are moving so far and so fast, my guitar skills are being stretched to the limit of my capabilities.  I'd really like to start learning to improvise solo, but don't know where to start.  I'm pretty good with my pentatonic scales, but that doesn't get me far in Bluegrass.

• Member ID:  6
  • Group:  Members
  • Followers:  6
  • Topic Count:  30
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  1,053
  • Content Per Day:  0.46
  • Days Won:  144
  • Birthday:  12/14/1960
  • Device:  iPhone

I've played in an RCM 'choir' for 4yrs now. the 2 other guitarists started playing in 1954 and 1971. so they are beyond my playing skills, I try to nail the second rhythm for them (until they decide to capo a song and change all the chords up on me)

as for soloing in your situation.

I would think you need to know the song rhythmically first, then you're going to need to know the melody we'll . once you have the melody firmly under your fingers then you can use your pentatonic knowledge work on the solo.

there are others here that could comment better than me, can pick out the melody to solo with.

I'm sure they'll chime in soon

• Member ID:  5
  • Followers:  6
  • Topic Count:  65
  • Topics Per Day:  0.03
  • Content Count:  1,076
  • Content Per Day:  0.47
  • Days Won:  166
  • Device:  Windows

56 minutes ago, gmills said: